Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

API for the Alteryx License Portal

sp210708
8 - Asteroid

Hello,

I am a newbie with API's and wanted to build a quick workflow to connect to the data in our license portal. (both for educational purposes - learning about API's and building a functional workflow to track licenses)

Once I log in to the portal I see the API screen, which has the access token, refresh token and how to request it programmatically.

API docs are there but this is gibberish to me.

Trying to connect using the download tool but I don't know what I'm doing and no matter what I do it errors out.

Please help,

Thx,

13 REPLIES 13
ArnaldoSandoval
12 - Quasar

Hi @sp210708 

Before jumping into deep waters, I strongly suggest these resources:

API's in Alteryx 

Enjoy the learning.

Arnaldo

sp210708
8 - Asteroid

Thanks @ArnaldoSandoval 

I'm into the webinar however parts are outdated. I can't just replicate the webinar as the api site now requires a login.

There is also a DCM connection manager which doesn't exist in the webinar.

I created a login for the site, and added credentials to the DCM which is different from the video and now I'm getting an error saying my subscription doesn't have HTTPS encryption. I've deviated so far from the video at this point I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong.

Here is the response I get from the DownloadData column

{"error":{"code":"https_access_restricted","message":"Access Restricted - Your current Subscription Plan does not support HTTPS Encryption."}}

sp210708
8 - Asteroid

Edit @ArnaldoSandoval I removed the s from https and getting the call,

thanks,

ArnaldoSandoval
12 - Quasar

Hi @sp210708 

I attached the Guardian API, (The Guardian Open Platform); I haven't tried the first one.

Arnaldo

sp210708
8 - Asteroid