Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Compare two data sets & highlight the difference

viral_gada
7 - Meteor

Hi,

I am quite new to Alteryx.

I need to compare 2 datasets with same headers & also have a unique ID column which is same in both the files.

I require all the records in the output file with the changes highlighted in single color.

I have attached sample file with expected output tab as well.

Note: In sample file I have included few columns but actually I have 42 columns.

Can someone please guide me here. Thanks in advance !

13 REPLIES 13
mceleavey
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @viral_gada ,

We're not using Excel here so we wouldn't be colouring cells, but I've quickly put together a workflow to show you how to do comparisons of this nature.

I've essentially transposed the data and brought the two sources together to compare the like for like values. I've then provided a simple formula which replaces the Source A value with the Source B value and marked the column that had the difference.

mceleavey_0-1677164445954.png

mceleavey_1-1677164471988.png

Workflow attached.

I hope this helps.

M.

Bulien

viral_gada
7 - Meteor

Thank you @mceleavey  for the quick response.

I feel you resolved most of the part of what I was expecting.

I request if you could make below additional changes in the workflow & reshare the workflow, that would be great !

I need the output file same as the input file as the current output is adding more number of rows.

The data need not change ex: In check column, apart from same records, i see the value of A-Value has changed. I am attached the screenshot for the same.

I am happy to see the new column check & in that I can see what the changes was made in file B. (consider file A as a base file)

Once again Thank you for all your help here !

mceleavey
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @viral_gada ,