Alteryx Designer Cloud Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Cloud.
SOLVED

I'm new to Wrangler, and am trying to figure out how to remove carriage returns from within fields.

Trifacta_Alumni
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Seems like this would be a simple thing, but I've not found a way to resolve the issue I'm encountering. Please see the image attached. The third column should read "sam knows sheila likes to eat cake" but the field contains a carriage return after the name 'sheila'.

Your attention and help would be much appreciated.

3 REPLIES 3
Trifacta_Alumni
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Hey Ed,

You can start by removing the structure from your dataset. In the flow, if you select the source data and choose remove structure

Then, when you enter the grid, the first step you will have to do is split rows on a pattern. Generally this defaults to \n, but you can customize the pattern depending on the way the dataset is structured. With files that have excess carriage returns or new lines, you sometimes have to get creative with the way you split rows and split columns. If you are able to post this dataset to this thread I'm happy to take a look!

Best,

David

Trifacta_Alumni
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

This is a sample file that emulates the real working file I'm dealing with.

Thanks a bunch!

Trifacta_Alumni
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Hey Ed,

sorry for the delay!