Alteryx Designer Cloud Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Cloud.
SOLVED

Create Dataset with SQL issues

Trifacta_Alumni
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Hi,

Sorry for the long post. I'm very new to Designer Cloud and I'm trying to create a dataset with a custom SQL that I use in regular Alteryx Designer Desktop SQL Editor and also works in MS SQL Server Manager. I've created the connection to our database and see all my tables but I keep getting the below error message:

Invalid SQL: Table not found - com.trifacta.datasystem.connect.exception.NoSuchTableException

There are 2 tables I'm trying to do an inner join to the main table. I can successfully create 3 separate datasets for each individual table but I'd rather use a custom SQL.

Custom SQL(works in MS sql server manager and Designer SQL Editor):

select T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClient.ClientID,

T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClient.SearchName as ClientName,

T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClientExtraDetails.ClientSortName,

T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClient.AddressDetail,

T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClient.City,

T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblState.Description as State,

T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClient.PostCode,

T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClient.Telephone,

T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClient.Fax,

T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClient.email,

T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClient.URL

from T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClientExtraDetails

inner join tblClient on T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClient.ClientID = T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClientExtraDetails.ClientID

inner join tblState on T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblClient.StateID = T2DCBDATA.dbo.tblState.StateID

Another observation trying with a different table, I can successfully add the 'flight_data' table as a dataset by clicking the add button next to the name of the table but if I try to add the table using the below query with the 'Create Dataset with SQL' option, the query will validate successfully but when I go to save it as a dataset I get the error message below the query.

select FlightExternal.dbo.flight_data.*

from FlightExternal.dbo.flight_data

Error message: