Alteryx Designer Cloud Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Cloud.

Getting started with Designer Cloud

Jensdanerhall86
5 - Atom

Hi,

I am a fairly advanced Designer Desktop user and we are in my organisation started the journey to over time migrate to Designer Cloud. At the moment we are lacking som key tools and functionality to do the migration but will start to work as a hybrid with Cloud and Server until Cloud is fully developed.

All the learning paths are focusing on the Trifacta part rather than Designer Cloud.

My question is how the recommended way of working is with Designer Cloud. Normally I build my designer desktop flows step by step, run the flow to see to outcome of each step and understands the need of the next tool based on the outcome. The difference in Designer Cloud is that it works instantly with a sample data and shows values after each tool, but only showing part of the data. In order to full run the flow I need to attach a output tool .I can't really wrap my head around how I am supposed to work.

An example can be that I want to look at all the categories in a product dimension table, normally I would as I work in a explorative way I would add a summarize tool and just group the data based on the category column, but now I only get a few of the categories as it makes a summary of the sample and not the full dataset.

Anyone that understands my question and have figured out a good method of building out your flows in Designer Cloud,

Looking forward to get the communitiy input on this,

JD

2 REPLIES 2
nkuipers
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @Jensdanerhall86,

Really good question. As a disclaimer: I come from the Trifacta side of things, with very little experience in Designer Desktop. So I look forward to the additional comments of wiser users!